The Beginning

Standard

Adventures; they make memories, change lives, and they help us grow and learn about the world around us.

My adventure began on the first Monday of 2014 when my mom excitedly called me at school to tell me about a wonderful semester school she heard about. Great I said. But Emma, she replied, they have two unexpected openings! It focuses on the outdoors, leadership and marine biology, I think you would love it! Please look into it! So I did. The more I read around the website, the more excited I got. When I came home that night all I wanted to talk about was Coastal Studies for Girls. We talked about it over dinner, and agreed it was certainly worth a shot. After that time flew by, by Wednesday, I was emailing teachers asking them to write recommendations, writing my application essay, and talking with my school counselor about transferring schools. Soon, all the papers were in and all I could do was wait. Finally, after what seemed like months of anxious excitement, I received the much-anticipated email, “Emma we would like to congratulate you…” After sorting out a few last complications, it really began to sink in that this dream was now a reality! Soon the emails with packing lists, the student handbook, and class information began to arrive, and as I write this, the packing list is running through my head… Warm clothes, lots of socks, sleeping bag; there are piles all around the house.

I am so grateful to everyone who has supported me as I begin this adventure. My wonderful friends who have supported me and encouraged me, my teachers and school counselor who have helped make this last-minute transition as seamless as possible, and last but not least, my loving parents and sister who have been there since step one helping me navigate this path and supporting me in more ways than I thought possible. I cannot thank you all enough!

3 thoughts on “The Beginning

  1. Allison DeGroot

    Emma! That is amazing! I’m soooo proud of you! Way to follow your passions. Good luck and I will be sure to follow your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

